Interstate border advice

New South Wales and South Australian borders temporarily closed to Victoria.

New South Wales border closure

New South Wales has temporarily shut its border with Victoria to help slow the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). 

This means that if you're travelling from Victoria to New South Wales, you'll need an entry permit.

There are provisions in place for residents of border communities, such as Albury-Wodonga and Echuca-Moama. 

If you need to travel into New South Wales, you can apply for a permit through the Service New South Wales website or by calling 13 77 88.

There will be detours and vehicle checkpoints set up along the Victorian border. Visit VicTraffic for locations.

Please secure your permit in advance and allow extra travel time at checkpoints.

There will also be changes to public transport services as many services will stop at the Victorian border.

South Australian border closure

Only Victorians with essential traveller status are permitted to travel to South Australia.

Victorians travelling into South Australia by road or via Adelaide airport are required to complete a cross border travel pre-approval form at least 72 hours before you arrive. 

All shared border roads with Victoria will be closed to non-essential travel into South Australia, with checkpoints and detours in place.

V/Line coaches will continue to run, but please plan ahead by visiting the V/Line website. Be aware of any changes to your service and ensure you have a cross border travel pre-approval in place before your start your journey.

Visit the Government of South Australia travel restrictions page for more information about the travel restrictions, essential traveller status and check point locations.