Safety regulators

The Department of Transport works with the independent transport safety offices that administer transport safety regulations and investigate transport incidents.

The Office of the Chief Investigator, Transport Safety, is a statutory position established by the Transport Integration Act 2010.

The Chief Investigator investigates bus, marine, rail and tram incidents and reports the results to the Minister for Public Transport or the Minister for Ports.

The Office is independent. Its investigations determine what factors caused an incident rather than who was to blame.

Transport Safety Victoria, the independent statutory office of the Director, Transport Safety, was established by the TIA.

It administers bus, maritime and rail safety legislation, licenses operators, monitors compliance and investigates and reports on transport and maritime safety.

DoT works with VicRoads and the Victorian Police to oversee and administer the Road Safety Act 1986.

DoT also works with the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator to oversee the safety of Victoria’s rail networks.